Company Culture and You

04Aug09

One of the most important aspects of fitting in where you work is how well you fit into the culture. It’s something I’ve learned recently. Until I took my current job, I’d never had this issue. I’ve always fit in reasonably well wherever I worked. Until now.

I know that in the last few years, my priorities and focus have changed. After I had my first child, I found I couldn’t care less about status symbols and material things. It’s amazing how that’s so not the case where I work. I feel left out and awkward most days.

It sort of culminated the day that someone commented that she could never swim in a pool at work because she wouldn’t want her coworkers to see her in a swimsuit. All I could think was that after a few weeks of being in that swimsuit regularly, it wouldn’t matter. The coworkers should be proud of a colleague getting into shape.

Maybe I’m too practical and not worried about appearances. I know what’s important to me, and it doesn’t seem to match what a lot of my coworkers consider important. It often makes me feel like an outsider. Oh, well, life goes on.

No Responses Yet to “Company Culture and You”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

