Getting Unstuck

09Mar08

Writing has not been going the smoothest lately. In addition to all the demands on me and my time, the story has been stuck. There was something I wanted to achieve in the story, but couldn’t figure out how to make that work.

I’ve been thinking and thinking about it, until the solution walked up and slapped me in the face. It’d been standing there waving at me, and I couldn’t see it. So I know how I want that part to turn out.

And I’ve decided I’m going to skip over one set of scenes and move on in the story. I know how I want those to turn out too, but the way to make it happen eludes me. Since I know what the outcome is supposed to be, I can write past these and continue on with the story.

Now, because I am doing that, I fully expect this section forward will probably require extensive rewrites when I finally write those scenes. Who knows what I will find when I do write them and what impact those things will have on the rest of the story?

It feels good to work on my story, even if it’s all in my head. The time to write is coming few and far between right now, but I’ll get it there eventually. I really want to tell this story.

2 Responses to “Getting Unstuck”

  1. Writing out of sequence helped me “unstick” a recent project. I had a few ideas but couldn’t get jump-started. I decided to write four or five of the most dramatic scenes first, to establish I had a story and work up some confidence. I reasoned I could always link them together later. I wrote a lot of preliminary notes and then started scribbling out those key scenes. I have to say that after some initial resistance (I am a prisoner to routine and this whole process went against my thinking) I made swift, even heady progress. The linking and transition scenes were challenging but they also taught me a lot about story structure. All in all, a positive experience and I’ll be releasing the final result of those efforts in the coming months…

  2. Thanks for stopping by!

    I know a lot of writers who can easily skip around and write out-of-sequence scenes because the skeleton of the story is very concrete in their head.

    This one is not so much. I have a few key “bones” if you will, but I’ve yet to dig up the remaining pieces. I’ve just decided that since I know this particular outcome and where I want to go with it afterwards, it’s works at this point.

    Which leads me to the one bit of advice I have for other writers. If it works for you and your story, then go with it. Just don’t bank on the same fix next time around.


Leave a Reply

